Home > How To's > Extract a .EXE file in Linux

Extract a .EXE file in Linux


This post is been migrated to INITCRON.org

Two ways to extract a MS EXE/CAB archieves on linux,

1. cabextract <EXE_FILE>

2. unzip -a <EXE_FILE>

  1. shibasish banerjee
    March 1, 2009 at 5:45 am

    I’m using Linux mint. I’ve download a google talk version which supports Linux. But whenever I’m opening the googletalk.exe file it’s showing – An error occurred while loading the archive.
    Please Help me

    • Gourav Shah
      March 1, 2009 at 6:45 am

      from what you mentioned, I believe you need to install wine (windows emulator) to run .exe file.
      I would suggest you to make sure first the downloaded file is the one meant for linux, or there are some other package format which is available for linux.
      If this is meant for linux, it should work with wine.

      Now, to install wine, go to system-> administation -> synaptic package manager. Then install wine, and try your exe file now. It should ideally work.

      • Gabe Renfro
        June 8, 2009 at 9:21 am

        First off Wine is not an emulator. that is in fact what it stands for. Wine Is Not an Emulator. people who assume that its an emulator annoy me. Second you can simply install Wine by typing this in the terminal,

        Sudo apt-get install wine

        Thank you,
        Gabe Renfro

      • Gourav Shah
        June 8, 2009 at 9:59 am

        Gabe,

        Thanks for the correction. Yes wine is not an emulator as I thought it was. My apologies.
        http://www.winehq.org/myths

        And yes apt-get install wine is the simplest way to do it, however I do not assume readers of this blog to be much familiar with terminals and running commands etc.

      • Ge RenfroGb
        June 8, 2009 at 11:48 am

        Its cool. its just one of those things you know? haha
        but yea when i started with ubuntu about 2 years ago, i was a complete noob. though i had my friend to teach me the ways. even though my friend hats the aptitude command, i use it to install everything. ^_^

      • Gabe Renfro
        June 8, 2009 at 11:54 am

        Not completely sure how my name got all messed up. haha

  2. November 6, 2009 at 6:59 pm

    Greetings,

    I will test your 2 approaches to unpack and modify an old abandonware game. If it works, I will surely announce it.

    Thanks.

    My regards

    AMP

  3. Digitalchaos
    September 21, 2010 at 11:30 am

    Well, did it ever work? I’m STILL waiting! 😛

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

