Home > Reviews > Linux on slow computers Episode 2

Linux on slow computers Episode 2


This post is been migrated to  – INITCRON.org

The 2nd experiment that I did was install Xubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron on my Pentium 3 256MB Ram. Comparatively to Vector Linux Standard Edition(XFCE), I liked Xubuntu better as to add/install softwares were easier and spiced up with graphics compared to Vector Linux which looked plain and old.

Speed was almost the same at first, but after I’ve downloaded and installed the softwares I needed to run on the computer (eg. Open Office, Mplayer and so on), it was slightly slower compared to Vector Linux. That’s the price we pay for graphics I guess. Overall, I would choose Vector Linux as it was faster but wait…. when I installed Vector Linux on my computer, I logged in using a different desktop environment which was Fluxbox. It was way faster and not bad looking. It will be hard at first to get used to it, but I do enjoy the speed and the graphics are ok. It has the AWN kind of dock or a dock like MAC, not exactly the same but almost and it is fast not slow like AWN.

I guess the nest would be Linux Mint(fluxbox) and Fluxbuntu. Why? It’s because it is based on Ubuntu so that means it would be easier to handle compared to Slackware and others which most people don’t want to learn. If you’re more into technology then you should try out something harder like downloading debian, gentoo, slackware or any other major distros and start from the basics.

Screenshot of Xubuntu:

Thunar

Xubuntu File Management : Thunar

  1. Stephen
    January 31, 2009 at 8:58 am

    I’m planning to install it on my old pentium 3 that used to run windows 98, if I only use it to run mozilla and openoffice would xubuntu run pretty good? or should I use fluxbuntu?

  2. Anushia
    January 31, 2009 at 12:14 pm

    It depends on your machine, you could try out, it would run but not as fast as fluxbuntu, and fluxbuntu is not updated very frequently as the others (Ubuntu, Xubuntu, Kubuntu, Edubuntu, Ubuntu Studio etc.). I suggest you to run Crunchy Bang Linux and as it is lighter and would definitely be better than Xubuntu and it is based on Ubuntu though it is not an official release.

  3. S
    September 4, 2009 at 3:48 pm

    You should REALLY check out VectorLinux *Light* 6.0 (as compared to Standard version). Yes, it IS based on Slackware, but that doesn’t mean it’s complicated to set up. Quite the contrary. I seem to have a similar laptop setup, and I’ve tried to run Xubuntu Hardy on it, with very similar results (especially OOo 3 clogging it up a lot). I’ve tried a few other distros until I hit VL Light 6.0. No looking back since then. It is (or rather can be, if you want it to) a “graphics” system just like Xubuntu (with IceWM as the default window manager) and highly customizable, yet a LOT faster than ?buntu in my experience. You might want to check my blog, where I try to explain what exactly led me to using VL although I’m quite a newbie to Linux.

    • Bleuwinter
      October 5, 2009 at 3:45 pm

      Thank you S for the review on VectorLinux Light 6.0. I’ll try that out.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

