Home > ubuntu, Uncategorized > Restoring System Tray / Task Bar on Ubuntu Linux

Restoring System Tray / Task Bar on Ubuntu Linux


This post is been migrated to – INITCRON.org

I just removed my system tray from the gnome top panel in Ubuntu. I did right click on the panel, and selected add to panel option. I tried searching for System Tray / Task Bar / Launch Bar without any success. Finally searched through some docs and found out that they actually call it ” Notification Area ” . Added it to panel and got back my system tray, or notification area as they say.

  1. click170
    March 24, 2008 at 7:51 am

    Thanks!

    Your simple blog post helped me figure out where my system tray had disappeared to. A couple weeks ago I guess I was taking a look around and apparently removed it from the bar at the top, and forgot how to put it back. Then I spent many hours trying to figure out why many programs that were supposed to appear in the system tray weren’t appearing anywhere. Thankfully, one simple google search for “where is my system tray ubuntu” pulled up your page and solved my problem!
    Cheers.

  2. orchyre
    May 1, 2008 at 11:37 pm

    Thanks for the help, I felt like an idiot when I accidentally removed it from the toolbar haha

  3. Chandrakiran K S
    May 15, 2008 at 4:31 am

    Thanks a lot…

    I was completely lost.

    Thanks once again

  4. June 25, 2008 at 4:56 am

    Thanks. I removed the whole top panel, because I thought it was a nuisance, and I just thought there wasn’t a system tray.

  5. Donnieakalefty
    September 7, 2008 at 9:14 am

    It was great i managed to remove the 2 standards task bars so i had 2 make 1 again so it would fit the design i have.

    Trying to make the move from vista/XP as easy as i can by making it look like vista in the beggining.

    Thanks for the help with the guide

  6. pratik
    September 23, 2008 at 9:05 am

    thanks a lot..one line..took 10 secs to read and do and solved a problem that had been paining me for almost a week!

  7. December 17, 2008 at 12:34 am

    Ehe, yeah…I recently made the switch to Ubuntu, and I NEVER used the system tray in Windows XP. I just Regedited it out. Now, in Ubuntu, I actually do need it. XP GAWD. I’m an idiot. Thankies for the help. I wasn’t stuck nearly as long as everyone else, but I appreciate the help just as much. :3

  8. February 8, 2009 at 2:42 pm

    Thanks

  9. milo
    March 4, 2009 at 3:16 pm

    I hadn’t realised that I had lost it for over a week till I noticed that pigeon had gone but I was still getting pop ups and messages. You are a life saver.

    thanks Mate.

  10. April 10, 2009 at 1:05 pm

    Thanks , finally I could fix my panel πŸ™‚

  11. May 9, 2009 at 2:42 am

    Informative one. Helped me resolve an annoying problem. Thanks!

  12. David
    June 4, 2009 at 6:16 am

    Thanks much!

    This happened to me as well and you instructions helped.
    The was starting to cause me problems (of the non-real kind).

    I was opening applications that would disappear….I could see the apps were active when I looked at the system monitor but had no idea why I couldn’t see the GUI. In particular Rythymbox was opening and going directly to the “systray”, so was Amarok. I thought I was developing a real problem…with my machine and my head!

    Your comments set me straight.

  13. beltsonata
    June 11, 2009 at 12:50 am

    Cheers, this helped me!

  14. nervous137
    June 28, 2009 at 11:24 am

    Many thanks, I too have been hunting around the forums for an answer. Easy (when you know how).

  15. mukesh
    July 4, 2009 at 7:08 am

    enormous happiness
    thank you!

  16. joaquin perez
    November 1, 2009 at 4:24 pm

    so simple yet so awesome, THANK YOU

  17. Giorgio
    November 12, 2009 at 12:45 pm

    thanks, this was driving me mad. πŸ™‚

  18. Albert Au
    November 24, 2009 at 11:50 pm

    Thanks for that. Sometimes I can’t understand why Ubuntu and Linux can’t name things intuitively. I understand that much of our issues are due to us being too familiar with the Windows interface, but still, if the Linux family can spend more time on being more user-friendly then I’m sure it would be a lot more popular.

  19. mariano
    February 13, 2010 at 10:06 am

    thanks! πŸ™‚

  20. Mr. S
    February 18, 2010 at 6:58 pm

    Thank you, just what I needed πŸ™‚

  21. Vagiq
    February 23, 2010 at 6:21 am

    Thanks, perfect solution! I too, trawled the Internet, Panel adds and Synaptic to figure out systray. The Hplip error dialogue was driving me crazy at every start-up.

  22. yo
    February 28, 2010 at 6:27 am

    thank you !

  23. Amila
    March 21, 2010 at 12:09 pm

    Thank you. It really helped a lot. Thanks again.

  24. zeleftikam
    March 22, 2010 at 2:13 am

    Ah jeez, I just spent 3 hours trying to figure out why my network manager applet wouldn’t display or appear in the list of applets to add… this was the problem. Should have googled first. Thanks!

  25. April 4, 2010 at 4:53 pm

    Thanks a lot i got it back πŸ™‚

  26. Arun Sasidhar
    May 7, 2010 at 3:28 am

    Thanks for your help…..

  27. Ratis
    June 18, 2010 at 4:54 pm

    I have removed my bottom panel. Now i just want to re enable it. I can add almost everything. But how to add the minimise option. i Mean when me minimise an application it should be in bottom panel. How to add that? Plz help me

  28. umar
    August 8, 2010 at 2:11 am

    Thank you so much! i removed my settings menu from a program im using called Wally and i didnt know what to do, i search around everywhere and noticed that windows uses the same program but it puts it in the system tray so i figured maybe ubuntu has a system tray and here i am and ur wonderful post. TY so much! i was gonna format my computer the next day lol

  29. August 30, 2010 at 6:39 pm

    Thank you boss.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

